Crow Canyon

Crow Canyon is located in the East Bay Hills of Alameda and Contra Costa Counties in northern California. The main road in my neighborhood is Crow Canyon Road.

Grove Way meanders through central Hayward and southern Castro Valley until it reaches the I-580 freeway at which point it changes its name to Crow Canyon Road. The Road then continues in a northeasterly direction past Castro Valley following Crow Creek through a pleasant countryside until it reaches the town of San Ramon in Contra Costa County. The Road then sweeps eastward over the I-680 freeway across San Ramon Valley through Danville. At Camino Tassajara¬† Crow Canyon Road becomes Blackhawk Road and after Blackhawk it changes its name again to Diablo Road and doubles back toward I-680. But if you so desire you may turn right onto Mt Diablo Scenic Blvd just before Blackhawk Road becomes Diablo Road. Follow the signs and Mt Diablo Scenic Blvd takes you to South Gate Road and then Summit Road all the way to the top of the mountain. It’s quite a view.

My wife and I have lived in Crow Canyon for 37 years. We drive up or down Crow Canyon Road every day to get to wherever we want to go: store, church, school, friends, family. This is where we raised our kids. And this is where we return from all our travels.

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crow Canyon

  1. Bill George says:

    Any idea why it’s called “Crow Canyon”? Is it named after a Crow indian tribe perhaps. There’s no mention of the name origin in Wikipedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Castro_Valley,_California. You’ve created a very clean blog. Nice going!

    …Bill George

    • No, Bill — it’s not named after an Indian tribe. The Crow Indians reside in Montana. It’s not named after the bird, either. I’m sure there are some crows in Crow Canyon. I have never seen any, though. When you drive up and down Crow Canyon Road most of the birds you see are turkey vultures and red-tailed hawks. In my backyard I have seen robins, sparrows, finches, jays, towhees, hummingbirds, doves and quail. But no crows. One day a number of years ago a large raven visited us and sat on a stump for about 15 minutes before flying away. This bird was two or three times the size of the average crow. Crow Canyon is named after the first American family who settled in the area after Mexico lost California to the US. Thanks for the nice comment.

  2. Hilbert Werner says:

    Wow! You must have put quite a bit of effort into this blog? I have read a little bit, I am not a good reader. I tells me what you have been up to. May be we don’t have to walk anymore to catch up on things, at least from your side.

    Your blog is inspiring but I would be ‘hard-pressed’ to follow your act. So, we may have to walk the trail again to orally blog my side.

    Thank you for sharing,

    Hilbert

  3. lauramacky says:

    I’m laughing here….we are neighbors!

Leave a Reply

