Week 52 of Monochrome Madness

One year ago Laura Macky, a California photographer, and Leanne Cole, an Australian photographer, got together to produce a weekly challenge that they called the Monochrome Madness Challenge. Leanne has asked those of us who participated during the year to pick our favorite picture or pictures for week # 52.

Mission Santa Barbara (2003).

Mission Santa Barbara (2003).

I looked back on the year and noticed that I contributed to 33 of the 51 weeks. My first entry was in week # 6 when I submitted a photo of Stonehenge from our 2013 vacation in England. We went to Paris the following month and for the next few months I submitted a total of 13 entries with Paris as my theme. There have been other entries of other countries (Italy, Ireland and Portugal) and three different states (California, Idaho and Hawaii). Then in November of last year I began a series on the California Missions that I called Missions in Monochrome. I have decided that this series of seven entries would be my feature for this week with my photo of Mission Santa Barbara as my favorite photo of the year.

Here are the pictures for the other six missions:

Mission La Purisma (2012).

Mission La Purisma (2012).

Mission Santa Ines (2012).

Mission Santa Ines (2012).

Mission San Antonio (1981).

Mission San Antonio (1983).

Mission San Juan Bautista (19xx).

Mission San Juan Bautista (1986).

Mission Santa Cruz (19xx).

Mission Santa Cruz (1976).

Mission Carmel (19xx).

Mission Carmel (1976).

See here for more on Mission Santa Barbara.
See here for more on Mission La Purisma.
See here for more on Mission Santa Ines.
See here for more on Mission San Antonio.
See here for more on Mission San Juan Bautista.
See here for more on Mission Santa Cruz.
See here for more on Mission Carmel.

Drop by Leanne’s website to see what other photographers have selected as their favorites.

I’m looking forward to another year of Monochrome Madness. How about you?

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in California, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Week 52 of Monochrome Madness

  1. lauramacky says:

    Wonderful! Thank you for sharing this past year. I love your mission pics. πŸ™‚

  2. Robyn G says:

    Very nice submissions for MM πŸ™‚

  3. wonderful photos of the old mission. You’ve captured the feeling of history!! The bottom is my favourite, looking inside from the gate!! Beautiful Mono Crow.

  4. Oh, you have such a recognizable style. Very nice collection.

  5. Great series of CA Missions! My favorite in this group is Mission San Antonio de Padua. I’m very fond of that Mission. I had a wonderful experience there.

    I too am on the Mission trail. I only have the Missions in furthest of Southern CA left to do, oh and of course the one closest to me; Mission Santa Clara. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

