Guam 2015: Back to Plaza de Espana for MM 2-11

I decided to go back to the Plaza de Espana in Hagatna, Guam for my submission this week to Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness Challenge. In fact, today’s photo of cannon and cathedral was taken just two minutes after my entry for MM 2-9 two weeks ago. I just had to walk to the other side of the “fence-wall” to find the old Spanish cannon.

Cannon and Cathedral. My entry to Leanne's Monochrome Madness Challenge 2-11.

Cannon and Cathedral. My entry to Leanne’s Monochrome Madness Challenge 2-11.

There are several old Spanish cannons around the island of Guam. The Spaniards built a lot of batteries in the 18th and 19th centuries to defend against pirates. I’m not sure if this one was ever fired. And I don’t remember seeing a cannon here when I visited the plaza back in 1981.

The church in the background is Dulce Nombre de Maria Cathedral -Basilica, the cathedral for the Catholic Archdiocese of Agana. It was completed in 1959 on the site of the first Catholic church on Guam which was built by Pale San Vitores in 1669.

Three countries ruled Guam from the Plaza de Espana: Spain from 1669 to 1898; the United States from 1898 to 1941; and Japan from 1941 to 1944. The Governor’s Palace that was built in 1736 was destroyed by American bombs prior to the US invasion of Guam on July 21, 1944. During the time the US Navy administered the Territory of Guam the land in front of the cannon was a baseball field.

Yes, I used the same Nik Silver Efex Pro preset as I did in last week’s Monochrome Madness, MM 2-10.

Drop by Leanne’s website to see what other photographers are doing in monochrome this week.

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Guam, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Guam 2015: Back to Plaza de Espana for MM 2-11

  1. mvschulze says:

    Nice rendering. Good photographic subject. M 🙂

  2. Stunning shot, I really like the pp on this one. Gives it a real old vibe, which I love to see on these historical places. Reminds me of one I shot down in Tarragona.

  3. beautifully vintage effect!!!

  4. disperser says:

    Ditto on the comments; nice treatment.

Leave a Reply

