Guam 2015 and MM 2-16: A Taste of Monochrome

We stayed at the Westin Resort on Guam for two weeks in April of this year and we had breakfast a few times at the hotel’s Taste restaurant. The Westin’s lobby is on the fifth floor and most of the restaurants are on the fourth floor. But to reach the Taste you have to go all the way down to the first floor which is the swimming pool level and just above the beach. This shot of the Taste surrounded by tropical foliage is my entry this week to Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness Challenge.

The Taste Restaurant in the Westin Resort on Guam's Tumon Bay.

The Taste Restaurant in the Westin Resort on Guam’s Tumon Bay.

The Taste restaurant features a breakfast buffet in the mornings. About half of the food is standard American and the other half is Japanese. You can also order off the a la carte menu and I often slipped down to the Taste to have my bowl of corn flakes (always served with a small dish of raisins) and orange juice while my wife stayed in our room and heated up some Chamorro food left over from the previous night’s dinner. My wife has hundreds of relatives on Guam and several of them invited us to dinner parties at their homes. There are always lots of extra food at these parties. So on these occasions it was just me and my corn flakes at the Taste. But one morning I met my daughter and grandkids at the pool and after we managed to drag the kids out of the water we feasted at the Taste’s breakfast buffet. It was delicious!

I decided to go back to Nik Silver Efex Pro 2 to process this photo and I again used my favorite Silver Efex preset: # 036 Antique Plate II. See here and here for two other Monochrome Madness entries where I played with the same preset.

Why don’t you drop by Leanne’s website to see what other photographers are doing in monochrome this week?

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Guam, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guam 2015 and MM 2-16: A Taste of Monochrome

  1. I like the view through the foliage. Buffets are dangerous places! πŸ™‚

  2. lauramacky says:

    This turned out really well. Thanks for your comment about my B&W. I decided I’d do monochrome when the mood struck which was not every Tuesday most of the time. Glad she still hosts the challenge and people enjoy it! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

