Guam 2015: Breakfast at Pika’s Cafe in Tamuning

We ate breakfast inside our hotel on most of the 13 mornings we spent on Guam in April. But we ventured out a few times. Once we walked a block to a crowded Eggs ‘n Things at the entrance to the Reef Hotel. Another time we took our grandkids to the McDonald’s across the street while Mommy and Daddy packed for the flight back home. We also stopped by the restaurant at Day’s Inn one day so I could have my bacon and eggs while my wife consumed the fresh Chamorro food she had just purchased at Chode’s store in Hagatna (they made her eat outside on a bench near the hotel entrance). But then one day we drove to Pika’s Cafe up on Marine Drive and had the best breakfast during our stay in Guam.

Kids can color their own menu at Pika's Cafe.

Kids can color their own menu at Pika’s Cafe.

Pika’s is located at 888 N Marine Corps Drive, Tamuning on the right edge of a strip mall. They are open for breakfast and lunch and feature Chamorro food. You will find pickled mango here as well as finadene and the Chamorro version of chorizo. And they call their breakfast burrito “Chamericano.”

The grandkids call me Papa. So I had to have Papa’s Breakfast which consisted of pancakes and eggs and two slices of Spam. Others had Kahlua french toast with caramelized bananas or fried rice with that chorizo sausage or that Chamericano burrito. Yummy!

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Guam, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guam 2015: Breakfast at Pika’s Cafe in Tamuning

  1. I love trying the local foods of the places I’m fortunate enough to visit. It’s part of soaking up the culture that I love about travel so much fun. I’d try all those Chamorro foods I think.

    #1 Grandson calls He-Man Papa too. I love it! I’m just plain Gran or Grandma though.

  2. disperser says:

    Interesting destination . . . it seems rather a small place to visit; did you go for the WW II history, or part of a larger travel itinerary?

Leave a Reply

