Hiking on Montserrat

It wasn’t much of a walk — 40 minutes, mostly uphill, and then 20 minutes back, mostly downhill. But my hike from the monastery to St Michael’s Cross was the highlight of the four hours we spent on Montserrat last October. Here are some of the photos I took on that hike.

xx

Beginning the uphill climb.

CLICK ON ANY PHOTO TO SEE A LARGER VERSION OF THAT PHOTO.

The wildest animals I came across on my hike.

The wildest animals I came across on my hike. There are also squirrels, boar, wild goats, salamanders and snakes on the mountain but I didn’t see any.

xx

Early view of monastery from the trail.

xx

Sant Josep Manynet i Vives was born in Catalonia in 1833. He founded a congregation of priests called the Sons of the Holy Family.

xx

One of many view points on the trail.

xx

Most of the text you come across on Montserrat is in Catalan. Can anyone translate this?

xx

One of many religious statues on the trail.

xx

St Francis of Assisi.

Half-way there.

Half-way there.

xx

Saint Francisco Coll was a Dominican priest who founded the Dominican Sisters of the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin.

 

St Michael minus an arm.

St Michael minus an arm.

xx

Almost there.

Lunch-time.

Lunch-time.

xx

This scene is below St Michael’s Cross.

St Micheal's Cross.

St Michael’s Cross. I made it!

xx

Looking south from St Michael’s Cross.

The Montserrat monastery from St Michael's Cross.

The Montserrat monastery from St Michael’s Cross.

This shot captures the two ways of getting to Montserrat: either the Cremeleria Funicular (green train at lower right) or the xx (yellow cable car at lower center).

This shot captures the two major ways of getting to Montserrat: either the Cremallera rack railway (green train at lower right) or the Aeri de Montserrat (yellow cable car at lower center).

I took these shots on the way back to the monastery:

xx

Part of the trail goes through a forest.

xx

St Michael again.

Tribute to Pablo Casals who was born in Catalonia in xx.

Tribute to Pablo Casals who was born in Catalonia in 1876.

xx

Mother and child from one rock.

View of St Michael's Cross from the monastery.

View of St Michael’s Cross from the monastery.

See here for info on all of the trails to explore on Montserrat. One of the trails near the funicular station goes all the way to St Jerome, the mountain’s highest peak. There’s another trail that starts at the base of the mountain near the town of Monistrol and goes almost all the way to the top. When you visit the monastery be sure to drop by the Tourist Information office to pick up a copy of their map that points out the major trails. I would have liked to ride the St Joan funicular up to the top and then walk down past the monastery to the chapel at Santa Cova and then take the Santa Cova funicular back up to the monastery. But we only had four hours and both of us wanted to attend the Boys Choir performance at 1pm.

We enjoyed our day-long bus trip that included the tour of Colonia Guell but I would have preferred spending a few more hours at Montserrat. We left Barcelona at 8:30am but didn’t arrive at the monastery until noon.

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Barcelona, Spain, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hiking on Montserrat

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Great pictures! And I’d say 40 minutes hiking up is a pretty good hike!

  2. disperser says:

    Very impressive views.

    BTW, the shot of the monastery from St. Michael’s Cross is small when you click on it. All the others ones open up as large versions.

  3. Peter Klopp says:

    I was thrilled reading your exciting hiking post and looking at the fantastic pictures. What a wonderful blog you are writing for us!

  4. fantastic pics and a great hike- I enjoyed it from my chair lol!

  5. Mary Ann says:

    My husband and I went to Barcelona in October 2015 and I am just now getting around to putting together my vacation photo book. We took a bus trip to Montserrat and, by far, that was my favorite thing we did. I was overwhelmed by the beauty of the setting! I found your web site while doing some research for captions in my photo book. We took the funicular to the top of the mountain and walked back down to the monastery. The picture you took of the striped cat looks just like the cat I photographed at the cross of St. Michael! And thanks for the great labels of the statue photos. That’s exactly what I was looking for! Happy travels!

Leave a Reply

