MM 3-11: Me ‘n Bobby in Edinburgh

We visited the National Museum of Scotland one day during our recent trip to Edinburgh and afterwards wandered up a block to the Elephant Cafe for lunch. In between these two places we came across a small statue of a wee dog. He’s known around the world as Greyfriars Bobby. I handed my camera to my wife and she gave me her shopping bag to hold while she took this photo of me ‘n Bobby. It will be my entry for this week’s Monochrome Madness Challenge.

Me 'n Bobby -- my entry for Leanne Cole's Monochrome Madness Challenge this week.

Me ‘n Bobby — my entry for Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness Challenge this week.

Click on the photo to see a larger version of the photo.

The story about Greyfriars Bobby has been around a long time. Eleanor Atkinson published a novel about the dog in 1912 and the story was made famous in the Walt Disney movie that came out in 1961. Another movie was made in 2006.

You can find the whole story here.

About five years ago there was an article in the Daily Mail that claimed the whole story was a hoax. You can find that story here.

I processed this photo using Lightroom and the 024 Full Contrast and Structure preset in Nik Silver Efex Pro 2.

Why don’t you wander over to Leanne Cole’s website to see what other photographers are doing in monochrome these days!

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Scotland, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MM 3-11: Me ‘n Bobby in Edinburgh

  1. Sherry Felix says:

    It’s hard to know the real truth. I love the story anyway.

  2. Amy says:

    Very cool photo! Like the process you made. I like the Efex. 🙂

  3. I love Bobby and also wrote a post on this loyal little dog. Love to have supper in the pub there toio!

Leave a Reply

