MM 3-29 Travel Theme

I bought my first camera about 45 years ago and took mostly family photos for a while. Then I got the travel bug and now I consider myself as primarily a travel photographer. In 2010 I started Crow Canyon Journal and for the last six years I have been cluttering this blog with my travel photos. We usually go away for two or three weeks and then I post stories and photos about that trip for the next four or five months.

Leanne Cole’s theme this week for her Monochrome Madness Challenge is Travel and I had to think for a long time about what photo I would submit. I finally decided to go all the way back to our trip to Japan in 1981 which was our first big trip outside of the United States and North America.

xx

My wife and daughters in front of The Daibutsu (Great Buddha) of Kamakura.

Click on the photo to see a larger version of the photo.

Kamakura is about an hour south of Tokyo and about a half-hour south of Yokohama. One day we took the train to Kamakura to see the Daibutsu (Great Buddha) of Kamakura. This is a shot I took of my wife and two daughters in front of the giant statue. In those days I usually combined my travel photography with family snapshots.

Twenty years would pass before we got to Europe and another ten years before we reached Australia but this trip to Japan was a start. Our travels in the 21st century have taken us to Europe eight times and we now consider ourselves world travelers!

Australian photographer Leanne Cole has been hosting her weekly Monochrome Madness Challenge for the last three years and she suggests a specific theme for the first week of the month. Drop by her website this week to see how other photographers have interpreted her Travel theme.

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to MM 3-29 Travel Theme

  1. AGE says:

    Oh, i love to visit Japan. 🙂

  2. disperser says:

    Nice. Since moving here, we’ve actually considered a trip.

  3. Pieter Navis says:

    Impressive statue! Nice how you interpreted the theme 🙂

  4. Mel & Suan says:

    We travel to Japan often too. Did not know of this daibatsu in kamkura. Only the one at Nara

  5. mvschulze says:

    How odd! My first and only visit to Japan was in March of 1981!!! In that case a business trip, but in which I scurried all over Tokyo during off time, snapping pic’s…. and then meeting my wife in Hawaii on the way back. Thank you for sharing your images and stories of so many subsequent travels to Europe and Australia. M 🙂

    • We spent eight days in Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto and then flew to Guam for 16 days with my wife’s relatives. We then flew back to Japan and spent two more days in Tokyo before catching our round-trip plane back to San Francisco. My beard is mostly white now but was black back then. I will never forget all of those little Japanese kids pointing at me and laughing hysterically!

  6. Peter Klopp says:

    The paths in our photographic journeys are quite similar. i also started with family pictures and gradually shifted my attention to landscapes, wildlife and nature photography. Whenever I read in your blog, I am reminded to participate in Leanne’s monochrome madness. One of these days …

    • Peter, I think some of your splendid autumnal scenes of British Columbia would look terrific in monochrome! Give it a try — it’s fun! I sometimes process my photos entirely in Adobe Lightroom but more often start in Lightroom and then move on to Nik Silver Efex Pro and punch some more sliders around.

  7. Travel is a wonderful theme and I like the way you have gone back to the beginning to what sparked your travel bug. I haven’t been to Japan but maybe some day…

  8. I love the black and white and no doubt your children are all grown up!

Leave a Reply

