MM 3-31 Fall in the Redwoods

Last Friday was a holiday and my younger daughter and her family invited me to go on a hike with them in Purisima Creek Redwoods Open Space Preserve near Half Moon Bay, California. This is one of the shots I took that day and it will be my entry for this week’s Monochrome Madness Challenge.

xx

Purisima Creek Redwoods Open Space Preserve near Half Moon Bay, California.

Click on the photo to see a larger version of the photo.

The Purisima Creek Preserve lies along the San Mateo coast between Highways 35 (Skyline Blvd) and One (Pacific Coast Highway) and is about 40 miles from my home in Castro Valley. We drove to Hayward and then on Highway 92 across the bay and the San Mateo peninsula until we reached Highway One at Half Moon Bay. Then we drove south a few miles and then east on Purisima Creek Road until we reached the parking area (there’s only room for about ten cars so we parked along the road like everyone else). There’s another entrance along Skyline Blvd that will bring you to the northeast corner of the preserve.

We hiked up the trail for about three miles, stopped for lunch and then walked back down the trail to our car. I’ll have to admit that my legs were pretty sore for a couple of days but my two granddaughters (ages 8 and 10) acted like they could easily go another six miles!

After our hike we treated ourselves to ice cream at the Baskin & Robbins in Half Moon Bay. No one saw me eat my ice cream cone, though, because I chose the first class camouflage flavor in honor of Veteran’s Day!

Australian photographer Leanne Cole hosts the weekly Monochrome Madness Challenge. Drop by her website to see what other photographers are doing in monochrome these days and to see how you, too, can participate in future challenges.

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in California, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to MM 3-31 Fall in the Redwoods

  1. Peter Klopp says:

    Indeed it is hard to keep up with our grandchildren, when it comes to hiking and mountain climbing. This summer we went up Mt. Galiano on Galiano Island. I found the climb extremely strenuous, whereas our sons and grandchildren treated the exercise as if it was a Sunday walk.

  2. What flavor was the camouflage ice cream? #1 Grandson has so much energy he wears me out! He’s keeping me young in spirit. Unfortunately, I’m just not as fit as I once was. 🙂

  3. chattykerry says:

    That looks amazing in black and white.

Leave a Reply

