Thank you, Santa!

No, I didn’t see a brand new Mercedes parked in my driveway on Christmas morning! But I got the next best thing from Santa Claus this year: a Sigma 18-35mm 1.8 lens for my Canon 60D DSLR camera. In fact, it’s really the only thing I asked for this year.

xx

My new lens is still in the box. So this photo was taken with my old Canon 24-105mm zoom lens.

Click on the photo to see a larger version of the photo.

So expect to see a lot of photos next year taken with this new lens. It’s supposed to be one of the sharpest lenses ever built for APS-C cameras. We’ll see.  I’ve been told that these lenses won’t work on cameras with full-sized sensors. Oh, they will fit but you will have to live with extreme vignetting. This Sigma lens is also supposed to be excellent for low-light photography. And you can usually find Sigma lenses on the market  for about half the price of similar Canon lenses.

I have been blogging on Crow Canyon Journal for a little over six years now and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all my followers for viewing my photos and reading my travel stories.

I would also like to announce that I plan to make a few changes to the blog in 2017. First of all, I plan to continue posting monochrome pictures on Wednesdays and hope that Leanne Cole continues with her Monochrome Madness Challenge for at least one more year. This has been a lot of fun these last three years and I have enjoyed following all of the other MM participants.

Secondly, I plan to continue with posting my travel photo stories and will probably do these on Fridays. We will be traveling to Spain and Portugal next Spring; so stay tuned!

The Nik Color Efex Pro version.

Tarague Beach, Guam (April, 2015).

Finally, I plan to do something very different on every Monday of this coming year. Starting next week I will be uploading an article on the effects of climate change on the Pacific Islands and their inhabitants. The series will be called Climate Change in the Pacific and my first posting will be about the American territory of Guam.  Hopefully, by the end of the year I will have covered all of the countries that make up the three geographical regions known as Micronesia, Melanesia and Polynesia.

Happy New Year, everyone!

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thank you, Santa!

  1. GP Cox says:

    I’m expecting your gift to be put to good use. [that way it’s a present for all of us!!!]

  2. mvschulze says:

    I’m Jealous and envious, althoguh it would not fit my camera. Looking forward to your posts in 2017. M 🙂

  3. Peter Klopp says:

    Congratulations to your new lens for you Canon camera1 I am looking forward to your posts on Portugal and Spain. And I am excited to find out how you will present your articles on climate change in the Pacific. Happy New Year!

  4. Yayy Santa!! I hope you will enjoy your new lens in the New Year. All the best to you and your family Crow!!

  5. Happiness comes in a Sigma box! 🙂 How exciting! I’m looking forward to seeing your images made with your new lens, and reading your thoughts about it.

  6. Nicci says:

    Congratulations on your new lens. I love the plan to photograph climate change effects. Can’t wait. Glad you are still doing monochrome madness.

  7. Pingback: My First Shot with My New Lens | Crow Canyon Journal

  8. Happy New Year !
    I leave you my post about celebration of New Year’s Eve in Madrid
    https://traveltomeetyourheart.wordpress.com/2017/01/07/12-grapes-new-years-eve-spain-madrid/

Leave a Reply

