MM 3-38 A Royal Mile Selfie

The Camera Obscura and World of Illusions is one of Edinburgh’s top tourist attractions. It’s located on the Castlehill section of The Royal Mile just down from the Castle and across from the Scotch Whisky Experience. After we toured the Castle one day last May  we began to wander down the Royal Mile and I happened to notice the mirror and fish-eye lens and –click! — there’s my selfie! This will be my entry for Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness Challenge this week.

xx

The mirror and fish-eye lens outside Edinburgh’s Camera Obscura and World of Illusions allowed me to get my Royal Mile selfie.

Click on the photo to see a larger version of the photo.

The Camera Obscura and World of illusions is rated by Trip Advisor as #9 of 382 Things to Do in Edinburgh. Tickets for adults sell for 15 pounds. The World of Illusions takes up the building’s six floors with exhibits on optical illusions, mirrors, holograms, light and colors. The Camera Obscura sits on top of the building and you can view the Castle and the city of Edinburgh with a telescope from the rooftop terrace.

Australian photographer Leanne Cole hosts the weekly Monochrome Madness Challenge. Visit her website to see what photographers from all over the world are doing in monochrome these days. I took this photo with my Canon 60D and my Rokinon wide-angle lens and post-processed it in Lightroom and Nik Silver Efex Pro 2.

Here’s the original color version of the photo:

xx

The color version of my selfie shot.

 

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Scotland, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MM 3-38 A Royal Mile Selfie

  1. disperser says:

    Sounds like a place I would love to visit.

  2. Amy says:

    Very cool capture! Like it in B&W.

  3. love it!! I did a similar one there!!

Leave a Reply

