My First Shot with My New Lens

I know you are all waiting with bated breath to see the results of my Christmas present from Santa (see here).  So without further ado here is my first shot with my new Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 Art lens:

xx

My three granddaughters finger-knitting.

Click on the photo to see a larger version of the photo.

I caught our three princesses in our family room the other day finger-knitting scarves. They were so busy they didn’t even notice me taking their picture! The one on the left is eight years old and belongs to my older daughter. The two on the right are ages ten and eight and call my younger daughter “Mom.”

So why did I need a new lens and why Sigma? The lens I use most of the time on our travels is a Canon 24-105mm L lens. It’s a pretty good lens — in fact it better be, since it cost a few hundred dollars more than my Canon 60D camera! — but it’s also pretty heavy and since it was made mainly for large sensor cameras it often gave me results that were satisfactory but not quite as sharp as I hoped. I also seem to be content at taking pictures at the wide 24mm end and seldom use the len’s telephoto zoom capabilities. So a couple of years ago I picked up the very light and very inexpensive Canon 24mm pancake lens and I used it a lot on our last few trips.  I experienced some autofocus problems, though, with this lens during our Scotland trip last year and about 20% of my photos came out blurry.

So I started to look at lenses again and came across some YouTube reviews of the Sigma and discovered that everyone was raving about this lens. They said it was sharp — sharper than most Canons.  It is also the only wide-angle zoom lens on the market that stops down to such a wide aperture, allowing low-light photography without raising the ISO.  And at $800 it’s definitely not cheap but still is less than half the price of a corresponding Canon lens. Finally, I should point out that this lens is built for cameras such as mine with APS-C-sized sensors. So don’t buy this lens if you plan to upgrade to a larger sensor camera anytime soon!

I now have a grand total of five lenses for my DSLR (the other two are a Rokinon 11-16mm wide angle zoom and the Canon 17-55 kit lens I got with my first DSLR, a Canon Rebel). But I have a feeling that the lens of choice this coming year will be my new Sigma!

Update: two more photos to show the results of my new lens at  f/1.8 with corner lamp on and at f/2.2 with lamp off. Sorry but my grandkids did not visit today!

img_6376-1

IMG_6381-1.jpg

There was some minor processing in Lightroom in both photos but I also modified the white balance in the second photo.

 

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My First Shot with My New Lens

  1. Peter Klopp says:

    Great shot of the three princesses! Well worth the expense,my friend!

  2. Nicci says:

    I love my Sigma wide angle lens. It is so sharp! Love the photo. Delightful.

  3. disperser says:

    It looked like you used the flash . . . with an f/1.8, would you have been able to shoot with ambient light? Just wondering as I tend to avoid using the flash when I can.

  4. I clicked on Edit at the end of the posting above and WordPress brought me to their new software page that doesn’t allow the linking to a larger version (or at least I don’t know how to do it!). The second photo in the posting is 640×427 pixels but the last photo is 1280×853. WordPress automatically reduced it to 640×427.

    • disperser says:

      I haven’t played with the new editor, but it should let you choose what happens when you click on an image (meaning, whether it is a link or not). That said, maybe not. Despite making it the default, they are still working on adding some features (according to a support person I conversed with).

      Regardless, I always edit posts by going to the dashboard, posts, edit which will get you the original editor.

  5. Amy says:

    Love the photo of your three beautiful princesses. 🙂
    Pretty sharp! Thank you for the info. I’ll check it out. Currently I use Canon 28-135 mm lens for travel. It’s a little heavy.

Leave a Reply

