MM 3-47 The Great White Throne

In the summer of 1994 my wife and I drove to Salt Lake City to attend the  Oregon-California Trails Association annual convention and on our return home we decided to stop and visit three of Utah’s national parks: Capitol Reef, Bryce Canyon and Zion.  This shot is of The Great White Throne in Zion and will be my entry for this week’s Monochrome Madness Challenge.

Zion’s Great White Throne is composed mostly of white Navajo sandstone.

Click on the photo to see a larger version of that photo.

I used an Olympus 35mm camera is those days and took mostly Kodachrome slides. This photo stayed in its slide carousal for 20 years until I finally digitized it in 2014. Then just the other day I did some post-processing in Lightroom and Nik Silver Efex Pro.

I processed other photos from that trip, too,  and will show some of them in the next few days.

Australian photographer Leanne Cole hosts the weekly Monochrome Madness Challenge. Check out her website on Thursdays (Wednesdays in North America and Europe) to see what photographers from all over the world are doing in monochrome these days.

 

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MM 3-47 The Great White Throne

  1. Peter Klopp says:

    I know the word ‘amazing’ has become overused in the social media. But I say what I mean your monochrome image is amazing. I will try to participate in Leanne’s MM on the cultural theme coming up.

  2. Pingback: Utah’s National Parks: Zion | Crow Canyon Journal

Leave a Reply

