Utah’s National Parks: Bryce Canyon

After visiting Utah’s Capitol Reef National Park during the summer of 1994 we drove down state highway 12 to nearby Bryce Canyon National Park. It’s about 120 miles from Capitol Reef Visitor Center to Bryce Canyon Visitor Center. Unlike Capitol Reef and Zion you enter the park high on a rim that fluctuates between 8 and 9,000 feet above sea level. So you are looking down at most of the views. And most of the views include tall and thin stone pinnacles called hoodoos.

Bryce Amphitheater.

Click on any photo to see a larger version of that photo.

You won’t find any canyons in Bryce Canyon National Park but you will find several amphitheaters which extend for about 20 miles, the largest of which, Bryce Amphitheater, is 12 miles long, 3 miles wide and 800 feet deep.

Colorful rocks in the late afternoon sun.

View of an amphitheater full of hoodoos.

There are 13 viewpoints along Rim Road, the Scenic Drive. From this viewpoint you can see another viewpoint way up on the upper right.

Mormon pioneers began to settle in the Bryce Canyon area in the 1850s. A man named Ebenezer Bryce homesteaded in 1874 and the park is named after him.

Half sunlight, half shadow.

Some of the deer we encountered in the park appeared to be rather tame and unafraid of humans.

Did you see the second deer hiding in the trees?

Sunlight on top of Boat Mesa.

Gazing at the colorful rocks.

Hoodoos and pine tree along the scenic drive.

Some of the hoodoos are more than 200 feet high.

Bryce Canyon became a National Monument in 1923 and was designated a National Park in 1928. The Rim Road was built in 1934 by the Civilian Conservation Corp.

After Bryce Canyon we visited Kodachrome Basin State Park and then drove on to Zion National Park. I’ll cover these two parks in my next two postings.

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Utah’s National Parks: Bryce Canyon

  1. disperser says:

    Nice. I have some of the same photos . . . then again, I’m thinking they didn’t move the lookouts . . .

  2. StillWalks says:

    A truly amazing place. Although I knew the reasons for the hoodoos being formed, I still had to look them up in case I was missing something – they are such crazy formations.

  3. kzmcb says:

    The colours are amazing. If I ever go to America, Utah is a must see for me.

  4. Peter Klopp says:

    I marvel at the fine images that you were to recreate after all these years. Our son visited Bryce Canyon in 2012 and took amazing photos of similar locations with his Canon Rebel camera. So you see, I am not pulling my admiration for your beautiful shots out of thin air. In 1994 the old cameras were still be the queens of photography. I am looking forward to your next set of photos.

  5. Amy says:

    I’m so in awe with these photos! I thought I have seen enough cool shots of Bryce Canyon. 🙂

  6. Grace says:

    I love Bryce Canyon! These photos bring back a lot of memories. You have captured the essence of this amazing natural wonder.

  7. Love the photos. Thanks. My wife and I are deciding on where to journey with our five kids this summer. Utah and the Mighty 5 are near the top of the list, along with Voyageurs and the boundary waters. We’ll see where we end up– no bad choice!

  8. We traveled to Utah many times over the years and always enjoyed ourselves. Monument Valley and Zion in 1975; Arches NP in 1985; Capitol Reef, Bryce Canyon, Kodachrome Basin and Zion again in 1994. We last visited in 2005. I guess it’s time to go again. Still haven’t seen Canyonlands!

Leave a Reply

