MM 4-08 Walking along the Douro River

After our nine-day journey along the Camino de Santiago de Compostela in northern Spain we took a bus to Porto, Portugal and spent another three days there. One day we took the three-minute ride on the Funicular dos Guindais down to the river to visit the Ribeira District, probably the most popular tourist spot in town. Shortly after exiting the funicular I took this picture of people walking along the river near the Dom Luis I bridge, one of several that span the Douro in Porto. It will be my entry for this week’s Monochrome Madness Challenge.

People walking along the Douro River near the Dom Luis I Bridge in Porto, Portugal.

Click on the photo to see a larger version of the photo.

The Dom Luis I Bridge was opened in 1886. It was designed by Theophile Seyrig, a protege of Gustave Eiffel. Eiffel himself built another Douro River bridge, Ponte Maria Pia, nine years earlier that is about a kilometer upstream from this bridge. The city operates a light rail line on the bridge’s upper deck.  Automobiles are restricted to the lower deck. Pedestrians can walk on either deck.

[Porto’s Ribeira District starts at this bridge’s lower deck on the right and continues westward along the river for about a mile.]  It’s full of souvenir stands, shops and restaurants. You can also jump onto a sightseeing boat and cruise up and down the river for an hour or so.

[Most of the buildings on the hill between the two decks of the bridge are port wine aging facilities and several of them are open to the public for wine tasting.]  Porto’s city limits end at the north side of the river. All of those wine cellars are in Vila Nova de Gaia.

We found Porto to be a very picturesque city and I will be posting many more photos in the next few months.

Australian photographer Leanne Cole hosts the weekly Monochrome Madness Challenge. Visit Leanne’s website on Thursdays (Wednesdays in Europe and North America) to see what photographers from all over the world are doing in monochrome these days.

Correction: I erred in describing the photo as being taken from the Porto side of the river when it was actually taken on the other side. See Disperser’s comment below plus my reply as well as my next posting here.

 

 

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Portugal, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to MM 4-08 Walking along the Douro River

  1. disperser says:

    Nice photo and impressive bridge.

    • disperser says:

      Do you have a photo of the bridge from a higher vantage point and a bit farther?

      • Well, Disperser, I looked at all of my Porto photos last night and I found 31 pics that had at least a portion of that bridge showing. Most of these pictures were taken from strolling up and down Porto’s Ribeira district and then cruising up and down the river and even under the bridge. The only pictures from a higher vantage point where those I took from the funicular and they are all a bit blurry and full of reflective glares. I’ll show everyone the best of these 31 pictures next week. But I have to tell you that I’m glad you asked this question because I discovered that I made a major error in describing the photo. This was not the picture I shot after exiting the funicular. We took the sightseeing bus the day before the funicular trip and hopped off the bus on the Gaia side of the bridge and walked along the Gaia riverfront road which also has a lot of shops, souvenir stands and restaurants. And my shot was taken after our lunch at one of those restaurants and we were walking back to the bridge to catch the sightseeing bus again. So the photo is taken from the Gaia side of the river, not the Porto side and those buildings on the hill between the two decks of the bridge are in Porto, not Gaia.

      • disperser says:

        My reason for asking is that I was curious about the upper road since there’s obviously a lower road (I can see cars) and the sloping sides show a lot of homes.

        I confess that I went on Google earth and also searched for images of the bridge and I now have a better understanding of how the bridge integrates with the town.

        But, rest assured; I still look forward to your photos.

  2. Amy says:

    The large version looks great! Beautiful details of the bridge, and the frame is cool! 🙂

  3. Peter Klopp says:

    It looks like you have a great photo to enter into the monochrome madness contest.

  4. Pingback: More photos of the Dom Luis I Bridge in Porto | Crow Canyon Journal

Leave a Reply

