More photos of the Dom Luis I Bridge in Porto

I made a mistake in describing the photo I took for this week’s Monochrome Madness Challenge (see here). My memory tricked me. I thought this was the photo I took after exiting the funicular one day to spend the afternoon strolling up and down the Ribeira and cruising up and down the Rio Douro. But one of my readers (Disperser, see his comment following my posting) then asked a question which led me to examine all the pictures I took of the Dom Luis Bridge and I then discovered my error: the picture was taken the day before when we hopped off the sightseeing bus on the Gaia side of the bridge. So that photo was from the Gaia side, not Porto, and the hillside behind the bridge is Porto, not Gaia.

My examination came up with 31 photos that included at least a portion of the bridge and so I decided to do another posting and show you all the nine best of those 31.

Crossing the Douro on our sightseeing bus. The Serra do Pilar monastery sits on top of the hill. It’s now an army barracks but you can still attend Sunday Mass at the circular church.

The first photo above was taken on our second day in Porto while we were crossing the bridge on a sightseeing bus. The photo below was taken from the Gaia side and shows the funicular track down the steep escarpment. We rode on the funicular on day three, the day after we visited Gaia.

The Dom Luis I Bridge from the Gaia side. The funicular tracks are to the left of the buildings on the hillside.

View of the Ribeira and the bridge. I am pretty sure that the boat in the foreground is just for show. The boats once were used for transporting the wine barrels from the vineyards up the river but these days are mostly used for the popular hour-long cruises and most of the port wine makes it way to the Gaia storage facilities via trucks and trains.

The large building on top of the hill is the Palacio da Bolsa which was also used as the city’s Stock Exchange. Porto’s Se Cathedral is on the far left.

On our way back to Porto our sightseeing bus crossed the Douro via the next bridge east (upstream) of the Dom Luis I bridge.

View of the Dom Luis I Bridge from our sightseeing bus going back to Porto on the next bridge up stream.

View from the funicular. I had to crop this photo: the left side was filled with reflective glare from the funicular car’s glass.

View from the funicular. Port wine cellars (they are also called houses and lodges but the locals refer to them as caves) are both above and below the bridge’s upper deck.

View from the Ribeira.

Along the river in the Ribeira District.

Only three of the 31 photos showed a train crossing the river on the bridge’s upper deck. I guess they don’t run that often!

View of the Ribeira district with a tram crossing on the bridge’s upper deck. I climbed a staircase similar to the one on the left to take this picture.

Here’s some evidence that we went under the bridge on our cruise up and down the river.

Under the Dom Luis I Bridge.

One last look at the bridge from the Porto side.

We will now leave Porto for awhile and go back to our Camino de Santiago journey. The next few postings will be about our stay in Leon.

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Portugal, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More photos of the Dom Luis I Bridge in Porto

  1. Pingback: MM 4-08 Walking along the Douro River | Crow Canyon Journal

  2. disperser says:

    Some interesting framing and nice documentation of the bridge.

  3. mvschulze says:

    Nice glimpse into the Porto river scene, and the bridges. Thanks. M 🙂

  4. Amy says:

    Great photos from different angles and directions. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

