MM 4-12 Chapel in León Cathedral

For this week’s Monochrome Madness Challenge I have chosen this photo of the chapel in the León Cathedral called Capilla de Santiago o de la Virgen del Camino (The chapel of St James or the Virgin of the Camino). The chapel is located just off the Cathedral’s cloister and is where we attended the evening Mass on Sunday, May 21st.

Capilla de Santiago o de la Virgen del Camino (Chapel of St James or the Virgin of the Way).

Click on any photo to see a larger version of that photo.

Only this chapel was open during the evening service. The rest of the cathedral was closed. I took this picture the next day when I toured the cathedral and the chapel was then closed. So I took the photo through the glass door that separates the chapel from the rest of the cathedral.

I believe the man in the back row on the left is the priest saying his prayers before getting dressed for Mass. And the woman near the altar looks like the same woman who assisted with the Mass the evening before. I took this photo around 5:30pm, about a half hour before the Monday evening Mass was scheduled to begin.

See my previous posting here for more photos of this chapel and the adjoining cloister.

I took this photo with my Canon 60D DSLR and my Sigma 18-35mm lens that is built specifically for cropped-sensor cameras. I processed the original raw file in Lightroom and Nik Color Efex Pro and then brought the tif file over to Nik Siver Efex Pro to convert to monochrome. Here is the color version of the photo:

The color version of the photo — processed in Lightroom and Nik Color Efex Pro.

Australian photographer Leanne Cole hosts the weekly Monochrome Madness Challenge. Drop by Leanne’s website on Thursdays (Wednesdays in Europe and North America) to see what photographers from all over the world are doing in monochrome these days.

I’ll have more photos from my tour inside the Cathedral in my next posting.

 

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Spain, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MM 4-12 Chapel in León Cathedral

  1. this is a beauty Crow!! Love it in monochrome.

  2. Amy says:

    I like the monochrome too! You captured the majesty of the cathedral. 🙂

Leave a Reply

