MM 4-16 The Castle on the Hill

One day during our three-day stay in Ponferrada this last Spring we walked around the Knights Templer Castle and I took a lot of photos (naturally). Then we walked down the hill and across the bridge and made our way to the riverside. My wife wanted to check out a flea market and I wanted to take more photos, including this one that will be my entry for this week’s Monochrome Madness Challenge:

The Knights Templar Castle from the Rio Sil. I processed this photo in Adobe Lightroom and then used the low-key preset in Nik Silver Efex Pro to obtain the silhouette of the castle.

Click on the photo to see a larger version of the photo.

In my next posting I’ll show you more photos I took of the castle that day.

Australian photographer Leanne Cole hosts the weekly Monochrome Madness Challenge. Drop by her website on Thursdays (Wednesdays in Europe and North America) to see what Leanne and other photographers from all over the world are doing in monochrome these days. Leanne has a theme for the first Challenge of the month. The theme next month is Trees.

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Spain, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MM 4-16 The Castle on the Hill

  1. Peter Klopp says:

    Impressive photo of the castle on the hill! Your b/w pictures are my weekly reminders to participate in Leanne Cole’s MM. Maybe this fall I will give it a try.

  2. I’m looking forward to seeing some of your black and white photos, Peter!

  3. I love the story of the Knights Templar. Excellent image Crow!

  4. Pingback: Outside the Castle of the Knights Templar | Crow Canyon Journal

Leave a Reply

