MM 4-23 Walls and Windows of Porto

Soon after we arrived in Porto after a long bus trip from Santiago we decided to check out the views from the roof of our hotel and I took several shots. This one is my entry for this week’s Monochrome Madness  Challenge.

View from the roof our hotel in downtown Porto. The walls and windows belong to the backs of buildings one street over from our hotel.

Click on the photo to see a larger version of the photo.

Most of the other photos I took that afternoon on the roof terrace look better in color. I’ll show you some of them in a future posting.

Quiz for those of you who have a lot of time on your hands: How many rectangles are in this photo?

Australian photographer Leanne Cole hosts the weekly Monochrome Madness Challenge. Drop by her website this Thursday (Wednesday in North America and Europe) to see what she and other photographers from all over the world are doing in monochrome these days.

About crowcanyonjournal

I am a family man with interests in family history, photography, history and travel.
This entry was posted in Portugal, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to MM 4-23 Walls and Windows of Porto

  1. disperser says:

    I’m going to say 74 unnested rectangles. If you count nesting, 128.

    • Wow! I’m surprised some people actually counted! Sure, nesting counts.

    • disperser says:

      OK, I’ll let you in on a secret . . . but don’t tell anyone.

      I made up those numbers. Two scenarios come to mind . . . one, no one questions them (likely) and those then become “the numbers”.

      Two, someone even more anal retentive than me counts them and comes up with a different number (maybe the correct one, maybe not). Now, readers are curious, and a small percentage of them will see merit in spending some time getting to the bottom of which is the right number.

      As more and more people get involved, we’ll eventually hone in on the actual number and at some point, we’ll have an accurate count.

      At which point, I’ll write something like “Oh, yeah, I see it now. You guys are right.”

      In that scenario, I’ll have satisfied my curiosity as to the actual count without having to actually count them.

      I’m fine with either result . . . but, don’t tell anyone or it won’t work because everyone will wait for someone else to do the counting.

  2. Peter Klopp says:

    I counted 96. But it is more an estimate than a secure number, since there also many rectangles that look like parallelograms.

  3. Well, I think many of the rectangles look like parallelograms because of (a) the angle of view, (b) the quality of the camera and lens, and (c) the quality of the camera operator! The camera is a Canon 60D, just one step above the entry level Canon DSLR. The lens is a very inexpensive Canon 50mm lens. Most of the photos I took on our trip to Spain and Portugal were taken with my Sigma 18-35mm lens, which is of much better quality but also a lot bigger and heavier than the 50mm. I tend to pack my big lenses in my backpack when traveling on a bus or plane and so the 50mm just happened to be on the camera that day.

Leave a Reply

